teehee

Soooo I was absent for a ridiculously long time. Sorry about that! There were two main reasons for that:

  1. I was really busy and procrastination begets procrastination
  2. I’m allergic to dairy. Generally if I only have a little bit it’s fine, and I thought that eating yogurt in small increments wouldn’t irritate me too much, but then the allergies started to become pretty uncomfortable. So. Lesson learned.

That being said, I will eventually complete my goal. I’ll just do it at a slower rate than I had originally planned…

Shoutout to Grace for pushing me to explain myself. You’re awesome 🙂

 

In apology, this is what I ate for brunch today! Because Costco.

20140518-130159.jpg

My ingredient list:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tbsp. butter
  • dash of milk
  • 1 layer of sweet onion
  • 1/2 avocado
  • last night’s leftover bok choy that I forgot to put in the fridge… 14 hours is okay, right? right?
  • 5 strawberries
  • 2 apricots

Whenever I get the chance to go to Costco, I end up buying mostly fruit. And huge bags of spinach. If my freezer were big enough I’d get the huge chicken drumstick pouches, but alas! my dream remains a dream. It’s probably better that way though…

Did I mention how I love that grocery foodstuffs aren’t taxed? LOVE IT. Taxes and tips are a very necessary and (for the most part) uniquely American nightmare. So when things aren’t taxed/tipped I become a happy bug. Can’t wait to go home over the summer.

Last night I had a dream that I went to a really nice sushi place with a couple of friends, spent a very reasonable 55 dollars between us, and when the check came the waiter very pointedly mentioned that the tip rate was 55%. (maybe I dream in 55s?) Not just a nice round 50, but a weird 55. So I was a little annoyed, and tipped 50% instead, doing the math in my head because 50% is a lot easier to calculate than 55%. I mean, normally if you round up or down a bit it’s not a big deal. So I put $27.5 (after waking up I felt the urge to double check my math) as the tip and when the waiter came along, he took it, flipped it open to stare at the tip, and got a pen out and crossed out what I had put down. And then he did the math and wrote out the 55% tip instead!

Uh, dude, that’s something you’re totally not supposed to do.

Funnily enough my dream self was really annoyed at that, but then it fixated on the fact that he was doing all the calculations on the receipt itself. I could see him working the multiplication out and carrying over, like a fifth grader. I think I felt vaguely surprised that he was doing that. Maybe it’s a message from my subconscious to get better at math.

That was an expensive meal after tip though. $82.5. I woke up feeling reminded to be more careful with my spending. Anyway. I digress.

20140518-130209.jpg

Speaking of math, food, and efficiency, I love charting out all my spending and efficiency. So here is a halfassed nerdy breakdown of costs!

(the prep and cooking time only took 30 minutes! I am proud. My mom’s probably not though, she’d probably get it all done in like ten minutes. Good thing she doesn’t read this!)

Original price Unit price Final price
Eggs 2 for 12 2 / 12 = 0.17 0.33
Butter Tablespoon from roommate Tiny Tiny
Apricots 5.99 for 21 6 / 21 = 0.3 0.60
Strawberries 6.99 for 4 lb 7 / 24 = 0.3 0.30
Avocado 1 for 1 1 0.50
Onion 0.79 per lb Tiny Tiny
Milk Roommate’s Tiny Tiny
Bok Choy 0.69 per lb Tiny Tiny
Time 10 per hour 10 5.00
Total 6.73

I need to get better at tables. This one is both inefficient, inconsistent, and terribly ugly.

Well, everything in the table’s an extreme estimate. Except for the avocado and apricots. And I threw in my time for fun (hourly minimum wage, because unskilled labor) and that’s honestly the bulk of the price. Materials wise, food for less than two dollars! If I ate this for all three meals for a year, I would end up both extremely rich and nutritionally deficient (although it is a pretty balanced meal by itself).

If you’re weird like me and spend inordinate amounts of time pondering useless things like this, you can actually do the same thing with bananas at Trader Joe’s. Assuming you had one banana at every waking hour (about 17), at 20 cents per banana that would be $3.4 per day. Even cheaper than omelets! You’d probably get potassium poisoning, if that’s a thing. Or just implode.

20140518-130215.jpg

I’m actually really proud of the omelet. It’s so pretty. I took it out before it got too dark (the underside was browner and not as pretty, but photos are so good at lying teehee) so it was still a little runny in the middle… Oops. I ate it anyway though.

 

Off to wash purple rice off my pants. See you later!

❤ Emily

Leave a Reply

